Open Faculty Position
Assistant Professor – Inorganic
More Information

Chair’s Welcome

Welcome to the Department of Chemistry, where we strive for academic and research excellence while adhering to the Jesuit tradition of cura personalis.  Our department offers many exciting learning and research opportunities in core and emerging interdisciplinary areas of chemistry that are at the forefront of modern chemical sciences.  With 22 faculty, approximately 75 Ph.D. students, postdocs and research scientists, and 85 undergraduate chemistry and biochemistry majors, the department regularly boasts an annual productivity of more than 60 peer-reviewed articles in top chemistry journals. Our PhD alumni have gone on to professional success in industry, academia, government and other chemistry-related professions, and our undergraduate majors have excellent placement rates in top graduate and medical programs.  With the opening of the state-of-the-art science building Regents Hall in Fall 2012, and planned expansion of the sciences, there are many opportunities for pursuing great work in an inclusive and diverse environment. 

Located in the heart of Washington DC and overlooking the Potomac River, the Chemistry Department is only a few miles from the National Institutes of Health, the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the Naval Research Laboratory in addition to many other world-class science research activity centers at museums and industry in the region.  We encourage you learn more about us on these pages and in our departmental newsletters. 

Jennifer Swift
Department Chair

Department News

Diaper Polymer Discovery!

May 25th, 2023

On Wednesday May 17th, members of the Georgetown Chemistry Department traveled to the Franklin Sherman Elementary School to share some hands on Science with the first grade class. Dr. Nag…

Congratulations to outstanding graduate students

May 9th, 2023

On April 24th, Georgetown recognized outstanding graduate students for their contribution to research, teaching, and community at Georgetown through the Graduate Student Awards Ceremony. The awards…

Discovery Summit

April 18th, 2023

On April 1st, the Georgetown Chemistry department took part in the GUMSHOE organized Discovery Summit. Undergraduates from the Chem Club welcomed 35 students to the lab for a variety of hands on…

Students from the Field School in the GU Chemistry lab

Field School visits Georgetown Chemistry

March 8th, 2023

The honors chemistry class of the Field School in Washington DC visited the Georgetown Chemistry department this past week. They brought samples of aspirin they synthesized to collect IR, NMR, and…

Georgetown College Chemistry News

21st Century Postdoctoral Fellow to Conduct Cutting Edge Research Across Labs

Louise Djapgne, a new 21st Century Postdoctoral Fellow for the Department of Chemistry, brings her skills as a molecular biologist to the field of biophysics at Georgetown in order to advance research…

December 2nd, 2020

Chemistry Professor Awarded Prestigious Fulbright Global Scholarship for Research on Reduction of Greenhouse Gases

YuYe J. Tong, a professor in the Department of Chemistry and director of the Environmental Metrology & Policy Program, was awarded a competitive Fulbright Global Scholar Award for his collaborati…

October 20th, 2020

New College Faculty for 2020-2021

Georgetown College is pleased to welcome 24 new full-time faculty members with primary appointments in 16 College departments and programs. This cohort will help enrich the student experience through …

September 2nd, 2020

Chemistry, History, Psychology: College Professors from Varied Disciplines Recognized as Provost’s Distinguished Professors

Since 2016, a small group of faculty are selected each year to receive the honor of the Provost’s Distinguished Associate Professors. These educators have made a huge impact in their field of resear…

February 7th, 2020