Awards and Honors

Each year the Department of Chemistry recognizes the outstanding accomplishments of its undergraduate students with a variety of awards.  The awards are typically presented at a reception for all of the members of the department, the graduates, and their guests during commencement weekend.  One award, the Miljevic Chemistry Award, is presented at the College of Arts and Sciences’ annual Tropaia ceremony.

2022 Award Recipients:

Miljevic Chemistry Award – Rachel Palmer

The Miljevic Chemistry Award, founded in 1962 by Mrs. Nicholas Miljevic in memory of Mr. Nicholas Miljevic (C’34), is awarded for academic excellence to that student of the senior class who is majoring in the Department of Chemistry and has the best record in this field.

College Chemistry Achievement Award CSW – Eero Korpela (Chemistry) and Rachel Palmer (Biochemistry)

The student award of the Chemical Society of Washington shall be presented to a senior majoring in Chemistry/Biochemistry in recognition of outstanding achievement in college chemistry.

American Institute of Chemists Award – Amalia Cappuccino (Chemistry) and Jessica York (Biochemistry)

The student award of the American Institutes of Chemists shall be presented to a senior majoring in Chemistry/ Biochemistry, in recognition of potential advancement of the chemical profession, on the basis of the students demonstrated record of leadership, ability, character and scholastic achievement.

Martire Award for Excellence in Physical Chemistry – Eero Korpela

This award is given to the senior with the best performance in the two semester courses in physical chemistry.  Named in honor of Prof. Dan Martire, physical chemist and former chair of Department.

Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Research in Chemistry or Biochemistry – Chloe Kekedjian (Chemistry) and Rachel Palmer (Biochemistry)

This award is presented to recognize one or two seniors who have distinguished themselves as outstanding researchers during their undergraduate careers in the Chemistry Department.  To be eligible for this award, students must have performed at least three semesters of research in chemistry or biochemistry, predominately focused on a specific project or area.  Awardees receive a plaque and their names will be engraved on a large plaque displayed outside the Department office.

GU Department of Chemistry Award for Distinction in Chemistry – Amalia A. Cappuccino, Richard C. Demert, Ayse Ecer, Chloe G. Kekedjian, Eero J. Korpela, Amitesh Kotwal, Matteo Lauto, Lafe A. Martinson, Ella S. Meyer, Rachel N. Palmer, Ashley L. Rensted, Ga-Yeon Shin, Tran R. Tatlock, Jessica M. York

This award is presented to students majoring in chemistry and biochemistry who graduate with a Quality Point Average greater than 3.50 in their major.

ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Undergraduate Award – Adrian Kalaw

The Analytical Division sponsors an award to a rising senior each year which consists of a year’s subscription to Analytical Chemistry.

ACS Division of Organic Chemistry Undergraduate Award – Rachel Palmer

The student has demonstrated excellence in organic chemistry at the undergraduate level based on any combination of research, course work, and/or motivation/interest/dedication as defined by the institution and should have future plans that include a career in chemistry.

Past Award Winners